

BOARD OFFICER ELECTIONS MINUTES

DATE: Thursday, April 4, 2024 **TIME:** 2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

In Attendance:

DIRECTORS: OBSERVERS:

Neelam Bal, Co-Chair
Stacey Anderson
Nick Dzudz
Mary Egan

Jennifer Henderson, Nominations Committee Chair
Heather McFarlane, Former Board Director, Scrutineer
Stephanie Schurr, Former Board Director, Scrutineer
Teri Shackleton, Former Board Director, Scrutineer

Allan Freedman

Christine Funk

Elizabeth Gartner STAFF:

Lucy Kloosterhuis Elinor Larney, Registrar & CEO, Co-Chair

Sarah Milton Stamatis Kefalianos, Director of Regulatory Affairs

Julie Reinhart Seema Singh-Roy, Director of Finance, People & Corporate Services

Vincent Samuel Nancy Stevenson, *Director of Communications*Sabrina Shaw Andjelina Stanier, *Executive Assistant, Scribe*

Tina Siemens Kim Woodland, Director of Programs

REGRETS:

1.0 Call to Order and Appointment of Scrutineers

Chair Elinor Larney called the meeting to order at 1:22 p.m.

2.0 Approval of Agenda

Chair Elinor Larney called for changes to the agenda. One change was noted: Add as item 3.0(a): Appointment of Scrutineers. No other changes were made.

MOVED BY: Stacey Anderson SECONDED BY: Elizabeth Gartner

THAT the agenda be approved as amended.

CARRIED

3.0 Elections

3.0(a) Appointment of Scrutineers

Heather McFarlane, Stephanie Schurr, and Teri Shackleton were put forward to be appointed as scrutineers.

THAT Heather McFarlane, Stephanie Schurr, and Teri Shackleton be appointed as scrutineers.

CARRIED

3.1 Election of Officers

Chair Elinor Larney reminded the Board of Directors that the slate of candidates and statements of candidacy were circulated for review prior to the elections today. She stated that as per the College Bylaws, the Executive Committee will be comprised of two professional and two public directors. She stated that the slate will be read prior to the vote for each position and additional nominations will be accepted from the floor. A call for nominations from the floor for each position will be made three times before declaring nominations closed. The Chair proceeded with the election as follows:

BOARD CHAIR

Neelam Bal, Vincent Samuel, and Sabrina Shaw were nominated for the position of Board Chair. No nominations were received from the floor, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was composed of Neelam Bal, Vincent Samuel, and Sabrina Shaw. Votes were completed. A majority was declared.

Neelam Bal was declared elected Board Chair by a majority of votes.

BOARD VICE-CHAIR

Stacey Anderson, Neelam Bal, Mary Egan, Allan Freedman, Elizabeth Gartner, Sarah Milton, Vincent Samuel, and Sabrina Shaw were nominated for the position of Board Vice-Chair. Neelam Bal was removed from the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was composed of Stacey Anderson, Mary Egan, Allan Freedman, Elizabeth Gartner, Sarah Milton, Vincent Samuel, and Sabrina Shaw. Votes were completed. A majority was not declared. Mary Egan, Elizabeth Gartner, Sarah Milton, and Sabrina Shaw were tied with the lowest number of votes and were removed from the runoff ballot. Runoff ballot #1 was composed of Stacey Anderson, Allan Freedman, and Vincent Samuel. Votes were completed. A majority was not declared. Vincent Samuel received the lowest number of votes and was removed from the next runoff ballot. Runoff ballot #2 was composed of Stacey Anderson and Allan Freedman. Votes were completed. A majority was declared.

Stacey Anderson was declared elected Board Vice-Chair by a majority of votes.

BOARD OFFICER #1 (Finance)

Stacey Anderson, Neelam Bal, Mary Egan, Allan Freedman, Lucy Kloosterhuis, Sarah Milton, and Vincent Samuel were nominated for the position of Officer #1 (Finance). Neelam Bal and

Page 3 of 4

Stacey Anderson were removed from the ballot. Professional Directors, Mary Egan and Sarah Milton were removed from the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The ballot was composed of Public Directors Allan Freedman, Lucy Kloosterhuis, and Vincent Samuel. Votes were completed. A majority was declared.

Allan Freedman was declared elected Board Officer #1 (Finance) by a majority of votes.

BOARD OFFICER #2

Public Directors, Lucy Kloosterhuis and Vincent Samuel remained eligible to be on the ballot. No further nominations were received, and nominations were declared closed. The vote was completed. A majority was declared.

Lucy Kloosterhuis was declared elected Board Officer #2 by a majority of votes.

Chair Elinor Larney passed the Chair to newly elected Board Chair, Neelam Bal.

3.2 Motion to Destroy Ballots

Chair Neelam Bal stated that according to the College Bylaws, ballots from the election shall be destroyed by Board approval.

MOVED BY: Neelam Bal SECONDED BY: Sarah Milton

THAT the ballots for the 2024 Election of Officers be destroyed.

CARRIED

4.0 **New Business –** Newly elected Chair, Neelam Bal, presiding.

5.0 Break

Following the election of officers, Chair Neelam Bal called for a short break to finalize the proposed list for the 2024-2025 committee composition.

5.1 Committee Appointments & Composition

The draft list of new committee appointees and draft 2024-2025 committee composition was put forward for approval.

MOVED BY: Stacey Anderson SECONDED BY: Elizabeth Gartner

THAT the Board approve all the individuals recommended by the Nominations Committee to be appointed to College committees as Professional Committee or Community Appointees and that the proposed 2024-2025 committee composition be approved as presented.

CARRIED

5.2 Annual Signing

Chair Neelam Bal asked members to complete the Confidentiality, Code of Conduct, and Conflict of Interest forms which will be sent electronically following the meeting.

6.0 Next Meetings

The 2024-2025 meetings were set as follows:

- Board Education Session: Wednesday, October 23, 2024, 9:00 a.m. 4:00 p.m., location TBD
- Board Meeting: Thursday, October 24, 2024, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m., at the College
- Board Meeting: Thursday, January 30, 2025, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m., at the College
- Board Meeting: Thursday, March 27, 2025, 9:00 a.m. 4:00 p.m., at the College
- Board Meeting: Thursday, June 19, 2025, 9:00 a.m. 3:30 p.m., at the College

7.0 Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:29 p.m.

MOVED BY: Elizabeth Gartner

THAT the meeting be adjourned.

CARRIED